Northwest Roscommon Community Development Programme

The Northwest Roscommon CDP was set up in 2003 to deliver the then government funded Community Development Programme (CDP) in the Northwest Roscommon Area. Today the company employs 25 staff and sponsors two Department of Social Protection projects: The County Roscommon Job Club and the Community Employment Scheme. In 2010 the CDP moved into the Community Resource Centre in the Shambles in Ballaghaderreen. In the Resource centre the 3 projects are housed under one roof.

In 2011 the Community Development Programme was replaced by the Local Community Development Programme. The Roscommon Leader Partnership is responsible for delivering the LCDP which aims to tackle poverty in the community. Target groups include: the unemployed, low income farmers, older people, children and youth, disadvantaged communities, travellers and men’s groups.

The CDP is a non-profit organisation managed by a Voluntary Management Committee whose main aim and purpose is to support the economic, cultural & social development of Ballaghaderreen and surrounding areas.

In 2011 when the Community Development Programme was replaced by the Local Community Development Programme the Northwest Roscommon CDP was integrated with the Roscommon Leader Partnership.

Within the context of a harsher economic climate, Roscommon Leader Partnership seeks to champion needs responsive, local yet outward looking development initiatives which focus on improving the quality of life in Co. Roscommon for all. They provide practical and needed supports including grants, training, work placement and advice to community and voluntary groups, social inclusion target groups, small businesses, farm families and businesses and potential entrepreneurs. They also collaborate with a wide range of local organisations in the delivery of their services.

In March of 2015 we were the subject of a Irish tv matters programme which you can watch here.

The Programme Goals of the RLP are:

  • Stimulating diversification of economic activity through supporting rural businesses to establish and grow

  • Building resilient local communities

  • Initiatives to tackle poverty and social exclusion to ensuring social inclusion in at the centre of policy and development actions.

  • Delivery of key work placement programmes and environmental initiatives

Our Community Resource Centre staff are: 

  • Patricia Madden-Project Co-ordinator

  • John Tonra-Employer Liaison Officer

  • Bridie Duffy-RLP Administrator

  • Amanda Knott-IT Tutor

  • William McNally-CE Supervisor

  • Patricia Davy-CE Administrator

  • Mary Molloy-Job Club Administrator

  • Sonia Walsh-Job Club Leader

The members of the Voluntary Management Committee are: 

  • Jo Connolly (Chairperson)

  • Micheal Frain (Treasurer)

  • Con Moynihan (Company Secretary)

  • Fr. Joseph Gavigan

  • Kathleen Wall

  • Elizabeth Naughton

  • Dermott Neilnan

  • Stephanie Craughwell

  • Sean Fleming,

  • John Kilgallon.